Marketing and Technology part 1

This is the first of a series of posts that I will be doing exploring the integration of technology into advertising agencies. We’ll cover things like process (a sample digital project process framework is included here), role of the technology group, different roles in the technology group, technologies involved and more. There is a lot of information available on N.E.W.T.s, Chief Marketing Technologists and plenty more and we’ll touch on all of those at some point. The goal of this series though is to bring all of it back down to a more pragmatic and useful understanding of what technology’s role in marketing was, currently is and where it is going to be.

I’ll be making lots of assumptions, blanket statements and gross misunderstandings (well, not on purpose anyway) with the assumption that anything that doesn’t jive or make sense to you indicates there is a miss in my understanding and a topic that can be explored. Constructive criticism is always welcome here and an open conversation can only serve to elevate all of us together.

To kick things off, I’ve included a process framework for how to get projects done inside a digital agency. This is not meant to be prescriptive, it’s simply a guide so that everyone knows what everyone else is doing, what should have been done at any point in a project and what is coming next. Feel free to take it and use it yourself, just let me know what happens when you roll it out and if it’s of any help to you. Of course, I am always open to explore consulting arrangements. 🙂

I recognize this is kind of an abrupt start, I’m still getting my sea-legs here. That said, for my next post, I’ll be going through each of the stages in a bit more depth from the Technology group’s perspective.

Finally, while this may seem a bit backwards, after we get through this process stuff, I’ll start back at the top and explore the idea that technology’s role in marketing is to enable communication. and continue from there.

I would love your comments, thoughts, musings, criticisms, advice, etc. and I hope that this proves useful to you.

– Randall Noval

Leave a Reply

